top of page

MOSTAFA ASAL

MOSTAFA ASAL, player at Paris Squash Alpine, French International Squash

Titles

• Open Niort Green Venice (2018),

• Carter Classic (2019),

• Crawford Fund Management Open (2019)

• European Team Champion (FRA - 2018)

Biography

At just 21 years old, Mostafa Asal has already earned a reputation as one of the toughest players to beat on the tour. He already has a handful of major titles to his name and became world No. 1 for the first time in 2023.

 

The Egyptian burst onto the scene in 2018, his first PSA Tour event being the El Gouna International in his home country. He then participated in four events of the Tour de las Americas.

 

Asal has won three, winning the Mar del Plata Open, Regatas Resistencia Open and Paineiras Open Brasil. He also reached the final of the Aspin Kemp & Associates Aspin Cup. The Egyptian claimed his fourth PSA World Tour victory at the CAS International Squash Championships in Pakistan in 2019, beating compatriot Youssef Soliman in the final.

 

Despite being only 19, Asal went on to qualify for at least the second round of every major tournament, including several third-round appearances. He made his first major quarter-final at the JP Morgan Tournament of Champions in January 2020, before going one better in his first appearance of the 2020-21 season.

 

Asal reached the semi-finals of the CIB Egyptian Open and with it jumped into the top 16 of the world rankings for the first time in his fledgling career. He also qualified for the last four of the last event of 2020, the CIB Black Ball Squash Open.

 

After reaching the last eight of the El Gouna International, Asal made his presence known at the top of the sport, claiming victory at the season finale of the CIB PSA World Tour, where only the best of the best compete . This was followed by his first major title, as he came from behind to defeat Tarek Momen in the US Open final presented by Truist. These results, along with several other semi-final appearances, saw him enter the top five of the world rankings for the first time.

 

Asal's consistency continued into the new year, as he made at least the semi-finals of all six events he entered in the second half of the 2021-22 season. The Egyptian has made the last four at the Houston Open, Allam British Open and CIB PSA World Championships, as well as the GillenMarkets Canary Wharf Classic final in London.

 

Asal would claim two more major titles, winning the El Gouna International and CIB PSA World Tour finals on home soil in Egypt, beating New Zealander Paul Coll in both finals. Thanks to these results, he entered the world top three for the first time in his young career.

 

He started the 2022-23 campaign with semi-final appearances at the QTerminals Qatar Classic and the CIB Egyptian Open, before winning the Grasshopper Cup in Zurich. Asal also won the Everbright Securities International Hong Kong Squash Open and entered the world top two for the first time in the last week of 2022.

 

The Egyptian's rise continued in 2023, as he won the title at the Houston Open, the Tour's first televised event of the year. With the win, Asal topped the world rankings for the first time, becoming the third youngest man to reach the top, behind only Jansher and Jahangir Khan.

Philippe Signoret

Word from Philippe Signoret

His nickname is the "Ragging bull" due to his powerful game but also for his behavior on the court.
It hits the headlines and animates the debates between squash lovers.

bottom of page

top of page

MOSTAFA ASAL

MOSTAFA ASAL, joueur au Paris Squash Alpine, Internationaux de France de Squash

Palmarès

• Open Niort Venise Verte (2018),

• Carter Classic (2019),

• Crawford Fund Management Open (2019)

• European Team Champion (FRA - 2018)

Biographie

À seulement 21 ans, Mostafa Asal s'est déjà fait la réputation d'être l'un des joueurs les plus difficiles à battre sur le circuit. Il a déjà une poignée de titres majeurs à son actif et est devenu n ° 1 mondial pour la première fois en 2023.

 

L'Égyptien a fait irruption sur la scène en 2018, son premier événement PSA Tour étant l'El Gouna International dans son pays d'origine. Il a ensuite participé à quatre épreuves du Tour de las Americas.

 

Asal en a remporté trois, remportant le Mar del Plata Open, le Regatas Resistencia Open et le Paineiras Open Brasil. Il a également atteint la finale de l'Aspin Kemp & Associates Aspin Cup. L'Égyptien a remporté sa quatrième victoire sur le PSA World Tour aux Championnats internationaux de squash CAS au Pakistan en 2019, battant son compatriote Youssef Soliman en finale.

 

Bien qu'il n'ait que 19 ans, Asal a continué à se qualifier au moins pour le deuxième tour de chaque tournoi majeur, y compris plusieurs apparitions au troisième tour. Il a fait son premier quart de finale majeur au J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions en janvier 2020, avant de faire mieux lors de sa première apparition de la saison 2020-2021.

 

Asal a atteint les demi-finales de l'Open égyptien CIB et, avec lui, a sauté dans le top 16 du classement mondial pour la première fois de sa carrière naissante. Il s'est également qualifié pour le dernier carré de la dernière épreuve de 2020, le CIB Black Ball Squash Open.

 

Après avoir atteint les huit derniers de l'El Gouna International, Asal a fait connaître sa présence au sommet du sport, en remportant la victoire lors de la finale de la saison du CIB PSA World Tour, où seuls les meilleurs des meilleurs s'affrontent. Cela a été suivi de son premier titre majeur, alors qu'il revenait de l'arrière pour vaincre Tarek Momen lors de la finale de l'US Open présenté par Truist. Ces résultats, ainsi que plusieurs autres apparitions en demi-finale, l'ont vu entrer pour la première fois dans le top cinq du classement mondial.

 

La constance d'Asal s'est poursuivie dans la nouvelle année, puisqu'il a fait au moins les demi-finales des six événements auxquels il a participé au cours de la seconde moitié de la saison 2021-2022. L'Égyptien a fait les quatre derniers à l'Open de Houston, à l'Allam British Open et aux Championnats du monde CIB PSA, ainsi qu'à la finale du GillenMarkets Canary Wharf Classic à Londres.

 

Asal remportera deux autres titres majeurs, remportant les finales du El Gouna International et du CIB PSA World Tour à domicile en Égypte, battant le Néo-Zélandais Paul Coll dans les deux finales. Grâce à ces résultats, il est entré dans le top trois mondial pour la première fois de sa jeune carrière.

 

Il a commencé la campagne 2022-2023 avec des apparitions en demi-finale au QTerminals Qatar Classic et au CIB Egyptian Open, avant de remporter la Grasshopper Cup à Zurich. Asal a également remporté l'Everbright Securities International Hong Kong Squash Open et est entré dans le top deux mondial pour la première fois au cours de la dernière semaine de 2022.

 

L'ascension de l'Égyptien s'est poursuivie en 2023, alors qu'il remportait le titre à l'Open de Houston, le premier événement télévisé du Tour de l'année. Grâce à cette victoire, Asal s'est hissé au sommet du classement mondial pour la première fois, devenant le troisième plus jeune homme à atteindre le sommet, derrière seulement Jansher et Jahangir Khan.

Philippe Signoret

Le mot de Philippe Signoret

Il est surnommé le « Ragging bull », le taureau sauvage, en raison de son jeu tout en puissance mais aussi pour son comportement sur le court. Il défraie la chronique et anime les débats entre amoureux du beau squash.

bottom of page